web analytics
Home Mumbai Metro Line 7 (Red Line): Stations, Fare, Route Map, Status, & Timeline

Mumbai Metro Line 7 (Red Line): Stations, Fare, Route Map, Status, & Timeline

by Roshan
Line Status:

Mumbai Metro Line 7 (Dahisar East – Andheri East) metro corridor is 16.495 KM fully elevated and consists of 14 stations from Dahisar to Andheri. Metro corridor 7 was initially planned to run between Dahisar and Andheri, but later, the state government decided to extend the metro route. 

The Metro corridor at Dahisar has been extended up to Mira-Bhayander on the north. Andheri has been extended up to the T2 terminal international airport, Sahar, in the south. 

The extension for the metro corridor from Dahisar to Mira-Bhayander is named Metro Line – 9, and the extension from Andheri to T2 International Airport is named Metro Line – 7A.  

The official colour code for Metro lines 7, 7A, and line 9 is Red also called as Mumbai Metro Red Line.

Currently, Metro Line 7 and 2A is fully operational.

Click here to view routes for all metro lines on the map.

Mumbai Metro Line 7 (Dahisar East – Andheri East) Stations

Below is the list of stations on the Mumbai Metro Line 7 (Dahisar East – Andheri Eastcorridor. There are a total of 14 stations on the line, which are fully elevated.

#Station NameStatusTypeConnections
1Dahisar (East)OperationalElevatedInterconnect Mumbai Metro Line 2A – Yellow Line
3Rashtriya UdyanOperationalElevated
5MagathaneOperationalElevatedCentral Line,Harbour line, Indian Railways
8KurarOperationalElevatedWestern Line
9DindoshiOperationalElevatedWestern Line, Indian Railways
11Goregaon (East)Under ConstructionElevatedInterconnect Mumbai Metro Line 6 – Pink Line
12Jogeshwari (East)Under ConstructionElevated
13MograUnder ConstructionElevated
14Gundavali – Andheri (East)Under ConstructionElevatedInterconnect Mumbai Metro Line 1 – Blue Line and Mumbai Metro Line 7A – Red Line

Metro Line 7 and 2A Route Map

Mumbai Metro Line 7 Fares

The minimum fare for traveling in metro 2A and 7 is ₹ 10 for 3 km, and the maximum fare is ₹ 50 for 30km. The fare is based on the kilometer that you travel on the metro.

Check here to know the current fare on Mumbai Metro 7 and 2A      

Mumbai metro 7

Project History and Other Details

During his visit to Mumbai, Prime Minister Narendra Modi performed the Bhoomi puja for Mumbai Metro Line 7 and Metro Line 2A in October 2015.


As per the revised cost for the Metro Line 7 project, the estimated cost is to be ₹6,208 crores. The contract to design and construct metro line 7 was awarded to three infrastructure companies by Mumbai Metropolitan Region Development Authority (MMRDA).


On 8th August 2016, the construction work started for the metro line. The project was estimated to be completed by Mid 2020; however, due to the Covid-19 pandemic and other factors affected the project's completion date.


In May 2021, MMRDA commenced trial runs on Lines 2A and 7. MMRDA officials had assured that the two lines would be fully operational for the public by October 2021, which was revised later.


The Metro Line - 7 route cover 14 stations – Dahisar East, Ovaripada, National Park, Devipada, Magathane, Poisar (formerly Mahindra & Mahindra), Akurli (formerly Bandongri), Kurar (formerly Pushpa Park), Dindoshi (formerly Pathanwadi), Aarey, Goregaon E (formerly Mahanand), Jogeshwari E (formerly JVLR Junction), Shankarwadi, Gundavali (formerly Andheri East).

After many revisions in its deadline date, the Mumbai metro line 7 was finally opened for commercial operation on 2nd April 2022 during an auspicious Maharashtrian New Year Day, Gudi Padva. Maharashtra Chief Minister Uddhav Thackeray inaugurated the Mumbai Metro lines 2A and 7.


As a part of the Phase 1 plan, the metro stretch covers 20KM (Dhanukarwadi-Dahisar-Aarey). The Metro will run between Dhanukarwadi on Metro Line 2A and Aarey on Line 7. The two metro lines are running parallelly on Western Express Highway and Link road, which helps immensely to reduce road congestion and local train overcrowding on the western route.


However, since both the lines are not fully operational, the congestion on the road and train overcrowding is still present on western lines.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi inaugurated Phase II Metro Lines 2A and 7. Both lines will be opened for commercial operation from 21st Jan 2023 after 4.30 PM.

Images and Videos from the inauguration will be updated soon on our page. 

Project Overview

Project/Metro Name: Dahisar – Andheri East

Line Number: 7

Official Line Color: Red

Status: Operational

Distance: 16.495 KM

Total Stations: 14 Stations

Depot: Charkop(temporary), Bhayandar(Planned)

Operator/Implementing Agency: Mumbai Metropolitan Region Development Authority (MMRDA)

Construction Started: August 2016

Project Completion: Expected opening by October 2021

Estimated Cost: ₹ 6,208 crore

Detailed Project Report (DPR)View Here

Website: https://mmrda.maharashtra.gov.in/metro-line-7

Ridership Details

Estimated Ridership: 5.28 lakhs/day by 2021 and 6.68 lakhs/day by 2031.

Metro Timings: –

Metro Fare: –

Technical Overview

Track length: 16.475 km

Track Type: Elevated

Metro Type: Rapid Transit

Number of tracks: 2

Operating Speed: 80km/hr (50mph)

Track gauge: 1,435 mm (4 ft 8 1⁄2 in) standard gauge

Electrification: Overhead 25 kV AC

Timeline Mumbai Metro - Line 7 (Red Line)

Timelines Coming Soon

Follow Us on Social Media: